TTC–As Strange As It Can Be

Public transporation is an avenue by which so many of us travel, and yet, there seems to be something about the service that brings out the strange in people. Is it a result of the change in air pressure, being down so low, underneath the city or some other phenomenon of the masses that means folks just don’t seem to be acting normal?

Everyone has there strange subway stories it seems, and after moving to Toronto in September, and encountering the everyday subway ride, I am no different. In October, I saw a man wearing normal clothing and a full zorro mask get arrested on one of the trains. In December, a man stood behind me (and I mean directly behind me, his coat touching my own) on a fairly deserted stop in the Danforth area and keep nudging me, gesturing with two fingers to his mouth that he wanted a cigarette (at least, I hope that’s what the gesture was….eww….now I am reliving a whole different world of strange). And just this week, I was walking to the stairs when I heard a shrill shriek behind me, and when I turned around, there was a woman standing frozen, unmoving, in the middle of the stop with a winter toque rolled down over her entire face. Shaking my head in confusion, I proceeded up the stairs, only to pass a young girl who had piercings through (what would have been) the cute, little dimples on either side of her cheeks.

Is it just me, or are things on the subway only getting stranger?

Post your strange subway stories!

1 Response to “TTC–As Strange As It Can Be”


  1. 1 jenniferleung February 14, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    This is not as strange as it is DIRTY, but I once saw a man cut his nails on the subway with a nail-clipper, letting everything fall to the ground like it was nothing. Dirty.


Leave a comment




RSS Craig’s list

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Statcounter

website tracker